Become who you are

“Dear young people, if you are rooted in Christ you will become fully the person you are meant to be…the time of youth is given to you by the Lord to enable you to discover life’s meaning about demanding, long-term choices, a time of wondering about the mystery of pain and suffering. What is more, this wonderful time of life is marked by a deep longing which, far from cancelling everything else, actually lifts it up and fulfills it.”~ Pope Benedict

This theme of searching and becoming who we are meant to be is a message we hear often from our Pope, and one he has chosen as the theme of World Youth Day 2011. We are also reminded of it in the wedding homily of Prince William and Catherine Middleton. The opening words of the homily are from a quote by St Catherine of Sienna:

“If you are what you should be, you will set the world ablaze!”

We are called to something greater than ourselves, yet we carry that Greatness within us. Christ is waiting for us to receive what He has already given.

Late have I loved you, O Beauty ever ancient, ever new, late have I loved you! You were within. me, but I was outside, and it was there that I searched for you. In my unloveliness I plunged into the lovely things which you created. You were with me, but I was not with you. Created things kept me from you; yet if they had not been in you they would have not been at all. You called, you shouted, and you broke through my deafness. You flashed, you shone, and you dispelled my blindness. You breathed your fragrance on me; I drew in breath and now I pant for you. I have tasted you, now I hunger and thirst for more. You touched me, and I burned for your peace.~ St. Augustine

As we prepare our hearts and minds ( and our suitcases!) for WYD, remember to spend time with Him, the awesome lover of our souls who truly fulfills the deepest longings of our heart. Don’t be afraid to ask Christ to reveal Himself to you. He will, and in doing so will teach you Himself what it means to be a child of God.

I leave you with the song “Restless” by one of my favorite artists, the awesome Audrey Assad…

Leave a Reply

