Final days of Packing and Prepping!

Well here goes!  My first attempt at blogging. I can’t promise you it will be entertaining or funny but rather a first hand recap of my experiences on this trip of a life-time to Madrid, Spain for World Youth Day.  Just 3 days to go and I am already feeling tired from the mental preparation for the trip, the planning, pre-packing, packing, unpacking, repacking.  So many decisions to make!  Should I wear skirts, shorts (over the knee), pants, long shorts or short pants? Which shoes? Let me tell you, this has been the topic of discussion amongst our little group from St. Thomas More for at least 6 months!  We will be doing a lot of walking and have been warned (rather strongly encouraged) to bring very comfortable shoes.  So, take a break cute sandals and bring out the tennis shoes and Clark sandals with air vents and lots of cushion.  My feet will thank me later.

As with the other chaperones on the trip, many of us are leaving behind some part of our family, whether it be a spouse, as in my case, or 4 children and a husband, as in Georgie’s case.  There are bills to pay ahead of time, laundry to do (so we have clothes to pack), frigs to clean out, desks to clean off, school supplies to get (school starts just 3 days after we get back!), sports practices to get to, pets to arrange boarding,…you get the picture.

Regardless of all the preparation and planning to get to this point that we plotted and planned a year and a half go, I am truly looking forward to this journey and pilgrimage.  A friend of mine at work said that maybe it will light a fire in my faith.  Though I feel I already have a strong faith, I think we all get to a point in our lives where we need that extra “umph”.   We sometimes need to step away from the everyday normal  to see the big picture, to see if we are on the right path and to gain some focus.  I don’t know what to expect and have no real expectations other than to be tired, somewhat overwhelmed, completely open to experience new things, HOT, and somehow knowing I will be changed from this trip.

I take this trip with my daughter, Emma (who is also blogging at tendaysinspain.wordpress.com), 3 other lady friends and 7 other kids from St. Thomas More along with a great group of  pilgrims from the Diocese of Raleigh.  Please keep us all in your prayers as we make this journey as we will keep you in ours especially during our visit to Lourdes, France.

Blessings,

Denise

2 responses

  1. Sister Rose Marie Adams, I.H.M.

    Loved the comments about the shoes! Having been a part of this two year trip preparation from the very beginning, I am so pleased that 65 from our great Diocese of Raleigh are making this very significant trip to World Youth Day. How blessed to have Bishop Burbidge on the lead and Patrick Diener, the Diocesan Youth Minister as your guides. Though I am not one of the pilgrims, know that I appreciate being a virtural pilgrim.
    Have a great trip and I look forward to hearing how God’s grace is moving in Lourdes and Spain.
    Sister Rose Marie Adams, I.H.M.
    Executive Director of Catholic Formation and Evangelization

    August 11, 2011 at 7:42 am

  2. Ricardo Veloz

    Hola a Todos amigos peregrinos. Los peregrinos Hispanos ya estamos listos para esta gran experiencia espiritual.
    Hello dear friend pilgrims. The Hispanic Pilgrims are ready for this great spiritual experience.

    August 11, 2011 at 5:41 pm

Leave a Reply

